Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Trial access to 20 December 2013 and Africa, Photography, Sc
Nineteenth Century Collections Online includes rare primary sources, curated by an international team of experts, providing never-before-possible access to important works sourced from leading libraries worldwide. Users will find millions of full-text, fully searchable pages that enhance historical scholarship and provide an intriguing window into a bygone era in a series of themed collections. Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest provides an in-depth look into the motivations, activities and results of the European conquest of Africa in the 19th century. Photography: The World Through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically-illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe. Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed. Science, Technology and Medicine, 1780-1925 helps researchers place science, along with medicine and technology, in the mainstream of historical study. This interdisciplinary collection consists primarily of Journals that track the connection between major episodes in the history of science, specifically in general science, medicine, biology, entomology, botany, chemistry, physics, mathematics, geology, paleontology, and technology; and Monographs in the hard and social sciences that touch upon the history of anthropology, archeology, ecology, public health, sanitation, geography, oceanography, astronomy, industrial and battlefield technology, and the philosophy of science. Women: Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late 18th century to the era of suffrage in the early 20th century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection contains deep information on European and North American movements, but also expands its scope to include collections from other regions.