Children and Bread in Time of War

Susan C. Griffith


This article analyses Deborah Ellis' Breadwinner Trilogy (also known as the Parvana trilogy), in terms of its awards from the Jane Addams Peace Association.
In particular, it considers how the novels promote peace and social justice, broaden understanding of cultures of the world, provide models of children who solve problems courageously and invite discussion of gender equity and the effects of war.

Full Text:


The Looking Glass: new perspectives on children's literature

ISBN 1551-5680