

## The Caucus Race

News, Announcements and Paper Calls

## Children's Literature Association Announces 2018 Phoenix Award Winner



Elizabeth Partridge, the author of *Restless Spirit: The Life and Work of Dorothea Lange* (Viking 1998), is the winner of the 2018 Phoenix Award, given to the author of a book for children published originally in English that did not win a major award at the time of its publication twenty years earlier.

The award was announced at the annual conference of the Children's Literature Association (ChLA), an organization encouraging high standards of criticism, scholarship, research, and teaching in children's literature. The Phoenix Award is named after the fabled bird that rose from its ashes with renewed life and beauty. Phoenix books also rise from the ashes of neglect and obscurity and once again touch the imaginations and enrich the lives of those who read them.

Restless Spirit: The Life and Work of Dorothea Lange offers a stunning portrait of the pioneering photographer who made visible the wrenching dislocations of families and children in mid-twentiethcentury America. Though sympathetic to Lange, whom she knew, Partridge does not idealize this complex woman. She unflinchingly portrays Lange's determination to become a photographer, her conflicts between her roles as mother and artist, her sometimes difficult temperament, and her social activism. Meticulously researched, elegantly designed, and expertly curated to display Lange's art, this biography creates an interplay of word and image that enriches our understanding of the moving photographs of sharecroppers, migrants, Japanese internees, and others whose lives Lange brilliantly illuminated.

The Children's Literature Association created the Phoenix Award as an outgrowth of its Touchstones Committee. The recipient of the award has been chosen each year since 1985 by an elected committee of Association members who consider nominations made by members and others interested in promoting high critical standards in literature for children. This year's Award committee included Lois Rauch Gibson, Chair, Coker College, Emerita; Jean Stevenson, University of Minnesota-Duluth; Claudia Mills, University of Colorado, Boulder; Sara Day, Truman State University; and Elizabeth Goodenough, University of Michigan.



More information about the Children's Literature Association, and a complete list of Phoenix Award winners, can be found on the Association's web site: <u>http://www.childlitassn.org</u>.

Site design and content, except where noted, © The Looking Glass 2017.